Unsolicited opinions, part 2

Buy expensive socks. Your feet will thank you.

Wool or synthetic fiber socks are probably the best thing that ever happened in my life. I honestly don’t know how I went so long without knowing about them, so I assume I’m not the only person who wasn’t in on this secret. They keep you warm when it’s cold, and dry when it’s wet without ever getting too hot or soggy or gnarly. A decent pair can run $8-25 at REI or a good sports apparel store, which I balked at the first time I looked for them, but you only need a few pairs to get by so splurge and forget the price tag. My feet are complete bitches and cry when it’s even slightly cold out, but these babies kept me plowing through the snow with just my Chuck Taylors all through Salzburg. Even without crappy circulation in your toes like me, they’re generally fabulous for traveling because the nature of the fabric doesn’t attract dirt which means everything stays pretty clean. Try it and see what I mean. Buy some nice socks and don’t look back.

Leave a Reply

